What Order Do You Read a Court of Thorns and Roses

What Order Do You Read a Court of Thorns and Roses?

Sarah J. Maas has captivated readers with her fantasy series, A Court of Thorns and Roses. With its intricate world-building, complex characters, and epic romance, it’s no wonder that fans are eager to dive into this enchanting world. However, the series consists of several books and novellas, leaving some readers confused about the correct reading order. In this article, we will guide you through the proper order in which to read A Court of Thorns and Roses and answer some frequently asked questions along the way.

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses (Book 1):
Begin your journey into the world of Prythian with the first book in the series. This novel introduces Feyre Archeron, a young huntress who kills a wolf in the woods, only to discover that it was a faerie. As punishment, she is taken captive to the faerie realm by Tamlin, a High Fae lord. The story unfolds as Feyre navigates the treacherous court politics and uncovers a dark threat looming over Prythian.

2. A Court of Mist and Fury (Book 2):
Continue Feyre’s story in the second installment of the series. After the events of the first book, Feyre is now living in the Spring Court with Tamlin. However, she finds herself trapped and longing for freedom. Unexpected alliances and new revelations shape Feyre’s destiny in this thrilling sequel.

3. A Court of Wings and Ruin (Book 3):
The third book picks up where the previous one left off, delving deeper into the conflicts between the courts and the looming war. Feyre’s journey takes an unexpected turn as she discovers her true powers and faces the ultimate battle for Prythian.

See also  How to Update Your Page 2 Navy

4. A Court of Frost and Starlight (Novella):
This novella acts as a bridge between the original trilogy and the subsequent books. It offers a glimpse into the lives of the characters after the war and sets the stage for the next story arcs.

5. A Court of Silver Flames (Book 4):
This novel follows the story of Nesta Archeron, Feyre’s sister, as she undergoes her own transformative journey. It explores themes of healing, redemption, and love in a new and engaging way.

6. Untitled Novella (Novella 2):
Although not yet released at the time of writing, Maas has announced a second novella that will focus on a different character in the series. Keep an eye out for its release to further enrich your reading experience.

Now, let’s explore some frequently asked questions about the reading order of A Court of Thorns and Roses:


1. Can I skip the novellas?
While the novellas are not essential to understanding the main plot, they provide additional insight and character development. They are worth reading to enhance your overall experience.

2. Should I read the novella before or after Book 3?
It is recommended to read the novella, A Court of Frost and Starlight, after completing the original trilogy. It serves as a transitional piece and will make more sense in context.

3. Can I read A Court of Silver Flames without reading the original trilogy?
While it is technically possible to read the fourth book as a standalone, it is highly recommended to read the original trilogy first. The events and character relationships will have a deeper impact if you have the background knowledge.

See also  How Long Does a Federal Investigation Take

4. Is it essential to read the untitled novella?
The second novella, focusing on a different character, is not necessary for understanding the main plot. However, it may provide additional depth to the overall story.

5. Should I read any other books by Sarah J. Maas before starting this series?
No, A Court of Thorns and Roses is a separate series and does not require any prior knowledge of Maas’s other works.

6. Can I read the novellas in any order?
The novellas should be read in the order of their release. Start with A Court of Frost and Starlight before moving on to the second novella once it becomes available.

7. Is there a specific age group for this series?
A Court of Thorns and Roses is categorized as young adult fantasy, but it contains mature themes and explicit content. It is recommended for readers aged 16 and above.

8. Is there a planned end to the series?
As of now, Sarah J. Maas has not confirmed the exact number of books in the series or its conclusion. However, she has expressed her plans to continue exploring different character arcs within the same world.

The Court of Thorns and Roses series offers a captivating blend of fantasy, romance, and adventure. By following the correct reading order and exploring the novellas, readers can fully immerse themselves in the enchanting world of Prythian and its compelling characters. So grab your copies and embark on this thrilling journey today.

Scroll to Top